What is the Age of Emancipation in New Jersey?
When parents go through a divorce, there are many legal matters to take care of. This can include the sensitive topics of child custody and child support. After a divorce is final, it is imperative to the court that parents try to foster a stable life for their children. This requires them to have a similar sense of financial stability that they were used to before the divorce. It is because of this that child support exists. When dealing with these matters, it is important to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey family law attorney.
What is Child Support?
Both of a child’s parents are required to financially assist them by law in New Jersey. This is accomplished through child support payments. These are made by a child’s non-custodial parent to the custodial parent. Raising children can be expensive in New Jersey, which is why it is important that the responsibility is not only on the shoulders of one parent. Instead, with child support, the cost of living for a child can be balanced between both parents. This ensures the child receives the financial support during their upbringing that they would have had if the divorce did not occur.
Calculating Child Support
New Jersey has no one solution to an amount that is owed in child support. Instead, it is calculated by the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines. This is a formula that allows the court to determine a fair amount owed in child support. This is based upon the family’s personal financial situation and what they are able to provide for their child. The formula in place applies to families with a combined yearly income between $8,840 and $187,200. This income is then calculated with the child’s cost of living to determine an amount that provides a stable upbringing. If the family in question is outside the income bracket, other factors regarding the family and their finances are considered to come to this conclusion.
Age of Emancipation
It is important to know that child support payments do not last forever. Instead, they are required to be made until the child reaches what is known as the age of emancipation. In New Jersey, this age is usually 19 years old. However, all families are different. It is because of this that some families may face circumstances that require either an extension or early termination of these payments. An extension may be necessary if a child decides to go to trade school or college. A termination may be requested if the child proves to be able to provide for themselves. In the event of this, emancipation must be proven to the court. If the court approves, the child can be deemed emancipated and support payments can finish.
Contact our Firm
If you need an experienced legal team to guide you through your divorce, contact Townsend, Tomaio & Newmark L.L.C today.